01/17/2023 Alumni McMurry News

(Abilene, Texas – Jan. 17, 2023) – McMurry University will announce two significant University awards including the McMurry 100 and All-Century Teams on Thurs., Jan. 26, 2023, at 4 p.m. at The Paramount Theatre (352 Cypress St, Abilene, TX 79601). McMurry will reveal the complete list of honorees’ names at the event as the University continues its Centennial celebration. The actual award will be presented to honorees and/or their family members on a later date. Community members are welcome to attend the announcement event.

The McMurry 100 is a list of individuals who have impacted the institution – from civic and business leaders, trustees, and donors to alums, athletes, faculty, and staff – over the past 100 years. Names expected on the list include Dr. James Winford (J.W.) Hunt, McMurry’s founder and first president, and Henry James, president of Farmers and Merchants National Bank (First Financial Bank). James served on the board of McMurry and provided crucial support during the institution’s founding years. As it has been since the beginning, First Financial Bank’s support continues today as a lead donor to the University’s Centennial Celebration.

“The McMurry 100 represents the individuals who have made the most significant impact on the institution during its first 100 years,” University President Dr. Sandra S. Harper said. “Without their service, vision, and generosity, McMurry would likely not be celebrating its Centennial this year.”

The selection process for the McMurry 100 began a year ago, with nominations accepted from January 2022 through August 2022. After multiple reviews by a research subcommittee, university leadership, the Centennial Steering Committee, and the Trusteeship and Executive Committees of the Board of Trustees, the McMurry University Board of Trustees approved the final listing of the McMurry 100 at its December 2022 meeting.

The All-Century Teams will be announced and includes athletes and coaches contributing to winning records, student growth, and national championships. From legendary coach Wilford Moore to the record-holding athletes, the All-Century Teams honorees are comprised of those who upheld the NCAA philosophy of excellence as McMurry sought to establish an environment in which scholar-athletes activities are an integral part of the educational experience and an environment that values cultural diversity and gender equity among their scholar-athletes and athletics staff.

“Our All-Century Teams include athletes and coaches, who led McMurry teams to record scores, record times, and conference champions in all sports,” Vice President of Student Affairs and Intercollegiate Athletics Dr. Sam Ferguson said. “Each displayed integrity on and off the court, field, and track, and each exemplifies our RISE Core Values: Responsibility, Integrity, Service, and Excellence.”

The Historic Paramount Theatre was chosen for the announcement given its close ties with McMurry through the theatre’s founder, H.O. Wooten, who was also instrumental in McMurry’s founding in 1923. Awards presentations and individual recognition will take place on later dates to allow for the celebration to include more guests. The complete list of honorees lists will be available on mcm.edu on Fri., Jan. 27, 2023.


McMurry 100

All-Century Teams


Nicholas Ocheltree, Director of Integrated Communications

Robin Daniels, Vice President of Marketing and Communications