April 28, 2023

McMurry University celebrates its 100th anniversary this year. For almost a century, graduates of McMurry University have been leaders in their professions and their communities, living extraordinary lives that embody McMurry’s core values of Learning, Excellence, and Service.

The University will honor seven alumni who have made a significant difference in their communities and professions at the Annual Night of Distinction dinner on Friday, April 28, 2023, as part of McMurry’s Spring Alumni Weekend.

The 2023 McMurry University Alumni Award honorees include:

  • Dr. Doug Wofford ’77
    Distinguished Alumni Award
  • Chad Harris, DVM ’03
    Young Alumni Achievement Award
  • Gaylene Taylor ’60
    Outstanding Alumni Award in Business
  • Dr. John Chapman III ’96
    Outstanding Alumni Award in Education
  • Lenworth McIntosh ’09
    Outstanding Alumni Award in Fine Arts
  • Alan C. Howell, MD ’95
    Outstanding Alumni Award in Math & Sciences
  • Helen Neinast ’75
    Outstanding Alumni Award in Religious & Spiritual Life

“McMurry alumni have an established standard of excellence as evidenced by their contributions to their professional careers, their communities, and their alma mater,” said McMurry President Sandra S. Harper. “It’s an honor to recognize these seven individuals as truly outstanding representatives of McMurry University.”

Every year, the recognition committee of the Alumni Association selects the Distinguished Alumni Award (est. 1971) and Young Alumni Achievement Award (est. 2011) recipients. Academic advisory board committees select the recipients for Outstanding Alumni Awards (est. 2017) in Business, Education, Fine Arts, Math & Sciences, and Religious & Spiritual Life. These committees choose from nominations submitted by McMurry faculty, staff, and the alumni community.